Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

“The romance of Beauty and the Beast meets the adventure of Graceling in a dazzling fantasy novel about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny.

For fans of bestselling An Ember in the Ashes and A Court of Thorns and Roses, this gorgeously written debut infuses the classic fairy tale with glittering magic, a feisty heroine, and a romance sure to take your breath away.

Betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom, Nyx has always known that her fate was to marry him, kill him, and free her people from his tyranny. But on her seventeenth birthday when she moves into his castle high on the kingdom’s mountaintop, nothing is what she expected—particularly her charming and beguiling new husband. Nyx knows she must save her homeland at all costs, yet she can’t resist the pull of her sworn enemy—who’s gotten in her way by stealing her heart.”

My Thoughts:

I couldn’t have bought a better book to get me back into the reading mood. I pretty much flew threw this book given the fact that my schedule has been pretty crazy. I think it took me about 3-4 days to get through the book and what a wonderful 3-4 days that was.

When I heard that this book was a retelling of Beauty and the Beast I was expecting something more along the lines of Beastly by Alex Flinn where you could clearly see that this was a retelling. This book, however, took a different turn. Sure, there were some elements of Beauty and the Beast, but it just felt like a totally different story (at least to me) and I loved every moment of it.

Going through the book, I loved how it was so creepy but at the same time whimsical. Her adventures through the many rooms and the twists and turns of the hallways kept me very intrigued. Her imagery seemed simple, but they perfectly helped construct the setting in my imagination.

Ooooh lord and Ignifex. He is bae. GAT DAMN.

Shade is cool too but he got nothing on my dark haired, red eyed man. Even though…nah I’m not gonna ruin it for you ;).

Extra points to this book for having some Greek mythology sprinkled in! If you didn’t know, I have an addiction for mythology and mythology retellings (it doesn’t have to be Greek).

I don’t know what else to say about this book other than it’s a book that you must pick up if you are into retellings.

ACTUALLY YES I DO. SOMEONE MAKE THIS INTO A MOVIE OMG. THE AMOUNT OF VISUAL APPEAL. BAZ LUHRMANN OR GUILLERMO DEL TORO GET ON THIS SHIT.

K. Thanks.

Until next time yall!!

Leave a Reply

