Spelled By Betsy Schow

“Fairy Tale Survival Rule #32: If you find yourself at the mercy of a wicked witch, sing a romantic ballad and wait for your Prince Charming to save the day.

Yeah, no thanks. Dorthea is completely princed out. Sure being the crown princess of Emerald has its perks―like Glenda Original ball gowns and Hans Christian Louboutin heels. But a forced marriage to the not-so-charming prince Kato is so not what Dorthea had in mind for her enchanted future.

Talk about unhappily ever after.

Trying to fix her prince problem by wishing on a (cursed) star royally backfires, leaving the kingdom in chaos and her parents stuck in some place called “Kansas.” Now it’s up to Dorthea and her pixed off prince to find the mysterious Wizard of Oz and undo the curse…before it releases the wickedest witch of all and spells The End for the world of Story.”

My thoughts:

Oh my Grimm and Holy Spell!!! This books was amazing! I didn’t think I would like this book this much but, I’d be darned, this book knocked my socks off. (I do realize how corny I sound, but it’s my blog so I’m keep the corn.)

I was at work one day and my cousin sent me a photo of a flier that said Betsy Schow was coming to one of the Barnes and Noble near me for a book signing for Spelled. I thought that it’d be sweet to meet her (who wouldn’t want to meet an author) so I took my ass to a B&N to get me a copy.

I was hoping to read it before the signing but I didn’t get to it and I wasn’t even able to go because I was shadowing a freshman and junior varsity football game for athletic training. Pretty sad, but that’s alright. I still read the book.

I am extremely glad that I decided to crack this book open. With my schedule I have very little time to read. For some reason, though, I flew by this book pretty quickly. The action in the book is so fast paced that I just had to keep going. Once one obstacle was done, there would be another…and then another…and then another…and then……you’re done with the book. This book had me hooked from start to finish.

Not only was this book filled with fast paced action scenes, it was also hilarious. I don’t think I have read a book in a while that has made me laugh as much as this book did. I would be sitting in my room, on the toilet (don’t you say ew because we all do it), or at a stop light (Yes, I read at stop lights. Keep the judgement coming) and I would just laugh. It wasn’t just a chuckle or giggle. It was a full ass, loud ass, obnoxious ass laugh. Pretty much an ass laugh where you are disrupting your surroundings with your new found humor.

The way Betsy Schow mixed in all the different types of fairy tales is almost genius. She molds multiple fairy tales into her books to make one whole storybook universe where all of your old favorite stories collide. The main story she seems to interweave is the Wizard of Oz. Her main character is named Dorothea who lives in a kingdom called Emerald where she meets characters that resemble the lion, the tin-man, and the scarecrow.  She ends up even wearing a blue gingham dress for Pete’s sake. Even though there are many parallels to the Wizard of Oz, this is a whole different story on itself.

This book is a playful satire to your age old fairy tales and stories. The way she pokes fun at some of the silly things some characters do in their original stories is just hilarious. I loved how the characters themselves knew that they were part of a story. For example, they are conscious to the fact that there are story makers who write their story. The story makers are like their version of a God or Gods. Here’s the kicker though, some characters actually end up interacting with story makers.

If you haven’t read this book, please read it. You will not regret it. ESPECIALLY IF YOU LIKE RETELLINGS. I’ve bought a good amount of retelling books in the past few weeks and these books have me so excited. However, this book literally jam packs a crap ton of characters from different stories into one whole story. How could you not like that?

Please go read this book. It’s great. Simple as that.

Until next time y’all!

And, yes, that’s my dog in the photo.

Leave a Reply

