Through The Woods By Emily Carroll

91bldT8CbtL

“Discover a terrifying world in the woods in this collection of five hauntingly beautiful graphic stories that includes the online webcomic sensation “His Face All Red,” in print for the first time.

Journey through the woods in this sinister, compellingly spooky collection that features four brand-new stories and one phenomenally popular tale in print for the first time. These are fairy tales gone seriously wrong, where you can travel to “Our Neighbor’s House”—though coming back might be a problem. Or find yourself a young bride in a house that holds a terrible secret in “A Lady’s Hands Are Cold.” You might try to figure out what is haunting “My Friend Janna,” or discover that your brother’s fiancée may not be what she seems in “The Nesting Place.” And of course you must revisit the horror of “His Face All Red,” the breakout webcomic hit that has been gorgeously translated to the printed page.

Already revered for her work online, award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll’s stunning visual style and impeccable pacing is on grand display in this entrancing anthology, her print debut.”

My Thoughts:

My Gosh can I just say that the artwork in this graphic novel was stunning. It was so beautiful. Which in turn helped make the book even turn the creepiness up a few notches.

When I heard people say that this book was a bit spooky, I didn’t believe them. How spooky could a graphic novel get? I had seen a bit of the art work here and there and thought that the book wouldn’t be scary at all.

Turns out I was terribly wrong. I wouldn’t say that the book is shit your pants scary but damn. I had the bright idea of reading the book in my bed, in my dimly lit room. Smart of me to do that I guess…especially for those who have read it. They know what I mean (hopefully).

There was just this one story in particular that had me freaked the fuck out for a good 48 hours. It was called “The Nesting Place.” That shit fucked me up. Actually, I take that back. The whole thing fucked me up. I guess you could say I’m a grade A pussy when it comes to getting scared. This novel had me holding tight to my covers that night.

Now don’t let me scare you away. The book was still great even if it scared my pansy ass. Even if you don’t like the stories, you have to appreciate her artwork. Definitely a read I would recommend.

Some people would recommend to read it during Halloween time but I feel like this is a book you can read in the winter also. Just check it out!

Until next time yall!

Leave a Reply

