In Real Life by Cory Doctorow and Jen Wang

616Ubdqmn3L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

“A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Anda loves Coarsegold Online, the massively-multiplayer role playing game that she spends most of her free time on. It’s a place where she can be a leader, a fighter, a hero. It’s a place where she can meet people from all over the world, and make friends. Gaming is, for Anda, entirely a good thing.

But things become a lot more complicated when Anda befriends a gold farmer — a poor Chinese kid whose avatar in the game illegally collects valuable objects and then sells them to players from developed countries with money to burn. This behavior is strictly against the rules in Coarsegold, but Anda soon comes to realize that questions of right and wrong are a lot less straightforward when a real person’s real livelihood is at stake.

From acclaimed teen author Cory Doctorow and rising star cartoonist Jen Wang, In Real Life is a sensitive, thoughtful look at adolescence, gaming, poverty, and culture-clash.”

My Thoughts:

In a way, I kind of relate to this book. I was a high school kid a few years ago but was not much like Anda. I was not really that popular but I wasn’t much of a gamer. I guess you could say I was kind of geekyish. The way this book relates to me is that it reminds me so much of one of my friends. She was a lot, to me, like Anda. She was a huge gamer and would spend countless hours gaming where she would meet friends online from across the world.

I think that this book is a great read. It shows us that what we may be doing for fun can be a way someone across the world makes money for a living and even though they are making this money it could be in the worst conditions. It also shows us that sometimes you have to be the one to step in and do the right thing. Stepping in to a situation could end up saving someone’s life. I know that there is that mentality of minding your own business (aka bystander effect) but sometimes people need help even if they don’t realize that they need it.

I definitely recommend to read this graphic novel. It did take me about two days to read it since I put it down a few times. This was only because it did not really grip me as much, but it was still a good read.

Until next time yall!

 

Leave a Reply

